So My Friend Is Allergic To Wool…

One of my only yarn friends is allergic to wool. She is one of the few people who understand and have a similar sized stash of yarn in her apartment. The only difference is most of her stash is cotton or bamboo or acrylic or anything else that she can knit with that doesn’t make her break out in hives. Her choice to work at a yarn store where she has to stock angora, wool, and mohair seems a little silly when she texts me from the basement getting hives because someone was knitting with mohair and she was having trouble breathing from particles in the air. Like I said though, she really really likes yarn too.

As a fellow yarn lover she was pretty excited when I started spinning. We live in different cities so I would send her pictures of my fiber and my drop spindles and my newly spun yarn. A lot of people told me when I was starting spinning that wool is the easiest to spin. The longer the staple length and the courser the wool the easier it would be so I got mounds of wool to spin. And I would send pictures to Bronwen. Now being allergic to wool and animal fibers doesn’t make her immune to how pretty natural colored yarns are so when I showed her the back of my door hanging with an array of yarns in natural hues all she could think about was a nice sweater just for her.

IMG_20141015_141415Then she came and visited me! We had the best time eating out and drinking beers and hiking. I got to show her all of my yarn in person! Which she tried not to touch so much (and not because I didn’t wash it because I did!). I had her feel around my fiber drawers to see if any of the random fiber I had gotten might be Bronwen compatible. I had ordered a bunch of random fiber ends which was a pretty good deal for the amount of fiber but meant I had weird amounts and no idea but guesses what the fiber was made out of. She picked a nice blue from that that didn’t seem to make her break out. I spun it right in front of her. It was only a few ounces so didn’t take long at all. I felt like I was at a crafts fair showing off my artistry in front of my customers (well customer). I felt like my spinning wheel and I should go on the road. I sent her packing with probably 50 yards of some light blue fingering weight handspun yarn that she wasn’t allergic too!

I still felt like a bit of a tease so I went back to the part of the internet where they sell fiber and looked at different super wash (I am not yet brave enough to attempt cotton). Here is some of it.

IMG_20141030_210216 IMG_20141030_210755 IMG_20141031_121640

This was also a chance to try some chain ply on my wheel. I won’t say it went great but my motto at the moment is practice, practice, practice! Looks like my friend is going to ooing and awing over my new yarn 😉

Leave a Reply

